A province-wide frequency modulation radio-communication system has been established at Montreal. A main station, operating on the top of Mount Royal, directs radio-equipped cars within a radius of between 60 and 80 miles around Montreal, and similar stations operating from the cities of Quebec and Three Rivers direct the mobile units operating in their respective areas. Substations operate at each of the eight bridges giving access to or exit from the city of Montreal and a number of cars, all equipped with frequency modulation three-way radio units, patrol the surrounding country day and night.

Ontario Provincial Police.—The Ontario Provincial Police is maintained by the Government of the Province of Ontario under the Attorney-General's Department. The Force is responsible for law enforcement in the rural and unorganized parts of the Province, and in certain municipalities by contract.

The development of the Force from its beginnings in the early years of Confederation to passing of the Police Act, 1946, is outlined in the 1950 Year Book, pp. 332-333.

The Force, with a strength of approximately 1,167 in 1951, consists of a General Headquarters at Toronto and 16 Districts with headquarters at Chatham, London, Dundas, Niagara Falls, Aurora, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Cornwall, Haileybury, Sudbury, Cochrane, Port Arthur and Kenora. Each District has detachments adequate to meet law-enforcement requirements. A Criminal Investigation Branch of the Force, under the command of a Chief Inspector, is maintained at Toronto. This Branch investigates crimes of a major nature. The installation of one of the largest police frequency-modulation radio systems in the world has placed at the command of the police a most efficient method of combating every type of lawlessness.

There are in operation 49 fixed stations and 370 two-way radio cruisers. The 250-watt stations at District Headquarters are open 24 hours daily and many of the cars are on continuous round-the-clock patrols.

Up to July 1951, 92 municipalities had availed themselves of the provisions of the Police Act for the policing of their municipalities by the Ontario Provincial Police.

## Subsection 3.-Municipal Police Statistics

Police Statistics were submitted for the year 1950 by Chiefs of Police in 205 urban centres, 13 district communities and two unorganized districts of 4,000 population or over. For the first time the statistics are included of the Newfoundland Constabulary, who police the city of St. John's.

The population figures used in table 32 are those of the 1941 census, except where otherwise designated. They are lower than the 1950 estimated population by as much as 1 p.c. in Prince Edward Island to 16 p.c. in Ontario. Any attempt therefore to determine the number of police per population would result in an over-estimation.